The 7th International Nitrogen Initiative Conference (INI2016) was held in Melbourne, 4 – 8 December 2016.

The 7th International Nitrogen Initiative Conference was held at the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) from 4-8 December 2016.  The conference attracted over 380 delegates from over 33 countries and was the first International Nitrogen Initiative conference to be held in the Southern Hemisphere.

Melbourne was well placed to host the globally important forum, as it is one of the worlds ‘most livable cities’ with continent-wide and diverse agriculture industries, globally recognized natural environments and a strong engagement with Oceania and Asia, where the balance between food security and the environment is keenly felt.

INI 2016 brought together environmental and agricultural scientists, policy advisors, farmers, fertilizer and other industry participants who shared knowledge and technologies and empowered each other to deliver improved nitrogen management for the world.

The conference’s over-arching theme – Solutions to improve nitrogen use efficiency for the world addressed “The Nutrient Nexus” of reducing nutrient losses while producing food and energy for all of our human family while reducing nitrogen’s negative effects on the environment and human health.

Delegates enjoyed field tours as part of the conference program and were provided with an opportunity to learn about nitrogen use and management within the context of several industries, both agricultural and urban in Victoria.  The tours took delegates through different landscapes and provided them with an opportunity to see the Victorian countryside and regional areas.

The conference included two social events; a Welcome Reception held at the MCG on the Sunday evening, followed by the Conference Dinner at the Melbourne Aquarium on the Monday.  Both social functions were well received by the conference delegates.

Cameron Gourley.                              deli-chen

Dr Cameron Gourley               Professor Deli Chen
Conference Secretary                  Conference Chair

Conference Partners

Conference Partner
Conference Partner


Gold Sponsor
Gold Sponsor
International Scholarship Support
Field Trip Sponsor
Faculty of Veterinary and Agricultural Sciences
Conference Dinner & Community Forum Sponsor
Silver Sponsor
Silver Sponsor
Silver Sponsor
Bronze Sponsor
     Bronze Sponsor
Bronze Sponsor
Name Badge Sponsor
Conference Proceedings

Organising Committee

Click here to read biographies of the Organising Committee members.

  • Professor Deli Chen
    The University of Melbourne, Australia
  • Dr Cameron Gourley
    Victorian State Government, Australia
  • Dr Robert Norton
    International Plant Nutrition Institute, Australia
  • Professor Richard Eckard
    Primary Industries Climate Challenge Centre, Australia
  • Dr John Angus
    Farmer and CSIRO, Australia
  • Dr Helen Suter
    The University of Melbourne
  • Dr Sharon Aarons
    Department of Economic Development, Jobs, Transport and Resources
  • Dr Robert Edis
    Australian Centre for International Agricultural Research

Local Advisory Committee

Click here to read biographies of the Local Advisory Committee members.

  • Professor Richard Bell
    Murdoch University, Australia
  • Dr Michael Crawford
    Victorian State Government, Australia
  • Mr Nick Drew
    Fertilizer Australia, Australia
  • Dr Robert Edis
    Australian Centre for International Agricultural Research, Australia
  • Professor Peter  Grace
    Queensland University of Technology, Australia
  • Ms Alice Hall
    CSIRO Publications, Australia
  • Professor Mike Hedley
    Massey University, New Zealand
  • Dr Phillip Mladenov
    New Zealand Fertilizer Association, New Zealand
  • Dr Mark Peoples
    CSIRO Plant Industry, Australia

International Advisory Committee

Click here to read biographies of the International Advisory Committee members.

  • Professor Tapan Adhya
    Central Rice Research Institute, India
  • Dr Cecile de Klein
    AgResearch, New Zealand
  • Professor James Galloway
    University of VirginiaUnited States of America
  • Patrick Heffer
    International Fertilizer Industry, France
  • Dr Kevin Hicks
    Stockholm Environment Institute, United Kingdom
  • Dr Cargele Masso
    International Institute of Tropical Agriculture, Kenya
  • Professor Mark Sutton
    Centre for Ecology and Hydrology (CEH)