CM Donald Oration


Colin DonaldColin Donald (1910-1985) profoundly influenced pasture development in Australia by understanding the limitations to pasture growth imposed by soils and environment, and advanced our understanding of competition between plants when grown in communities. In recognition of the work of Colin Donald the Australian Society of Agronomy awards the C.M. Donald Medal for Agronomy to an eminent agronomist at each national conference of the Society. The C.M. Donald Medal is the most prestigious Australian award in Agronomy.

In 1984. the Society instituted the C M Donald Medal to honour the contribution of Professor C M Donald to agricultural science. The medal is awarded to an eminent agriculturalist at each national conference of the Society. The past awardees are:

2022 Adjunct Professor Brian Keating
2019 Dr. John Angus
2017 Professor Timothy G Reeves FTSE
2015 Professor Graeme Blair (citation)
2012 Dr. Brian Dear
2010 Professor Peter Cornish
2008 Professor Robin Graham
2006 Dr. Bill Bowden
2004 Dr. Tony Fischer
2003 Professor David Connor 
2001 Mr R J Esdale(conference report)
1998 Dr. J L Davidson
1996 Dr. A B Hearn
1993 Professor J Russell McWilliam
1992 Professor Graeme L Wilson
1989 Dr. R C Rossiter
1987 Mr Reginald James French RDA, M.Agr.Sc., FAIAS
1985 Professor F C Crofts (citation)
1982 Dr. P G Ozane (retrospectively)
 About Colin Donald
- written by Walter Stern, Colin's first PhD student